Department of Computer Science

Department of Computer Science

The University of Richmond’s computer science program offers students a framework for understanding computer technology and its mathematical foundations. Major, Minor, & ConcentrationsCourses
Latest News

Nikoloz Gvelesiani, ’25, a Computer Science and Mathematics double major from Tbilisi, Georgia, was just awarded a Gilman Scholarship to study abroad at AIT-Budapest for Fall 2024.

Andrew Brady, R’24, a double major in Mathematics and Computer Science, has been awarded a Goldwater Scholarship. The Goldwater Scholarship is a national award for students who are pursuing STEM disciplines and who are likely to go to graduate school in a STEM discipline.

If you are a first-year student, and intend to major in computer science, write to to request addition to the list serv.

circle of colors

Computer Science Learning Objectives

Graduates of the University of Richmond Computer Science program will be able to:

• Articulate and apply the fundamentals of the core areas of computer science, such as algorithms, programming languages, systems, and software development.
• Analyze complex problems and devise computational solutions that adopt appropriate data structures and algorithms through rigorous algorithmic analysis.
• Design, develop, and assess software systems for solving problems in multiple domains.
• Effectively collaborate with others through clear oral and written communication.
• Make ethically aware decisions by identifying and analyzing the ethical issues and societal impacts that arise from the development and use of computing technologies.

University of Richmond Senior Receives Competitive Rising Black Scientist Award for Academic Talent, Commitment to Research

University of Richmond senior Camryn Carter, ’24 of North Chesterfield, Virginia, has been selected by Cell Press for a Rising Black Scientist Award. Camryn is a double major in Computer Science and Chemistry

Faculty Highlights

Dr. Catherine Finegan-Dollak
Finegan-Dollak and Undergraduate Student Published

Catherine Finegan-Dollak, assistant professor of computer science, along with Arryn Robbins, assistant professor of psychology, and UR student Anatolii Evdokimov, '25, published “WEyeDS: A desktop webcam dataset for gaze estimation” in the proceedings of the Association for Computing Machinery Symposium on Eye Tracking Research and Applications (ETRA 2024).

View Bio
Dr. Joonsuk
Park Published

Joonsuk Park, associate professor of computer science, published the paper "Argument Quality Assessment in the Age of Instruction-Following Large Language Models" in Proceedings of the Joint International Conference on Computational Linguistics, Language Resources and Evaluation (LREC-COLING).

View Bio
Dr. Joonsuk
Park Published

Joonsuk Park, associate professor of computer science, published the paper "A Design Space for Intelligent and Interactive Writing Assistants " in Proceedings of the CHI Conference on Human Factors in Computing Systems (CHI).

View Bio
Dr. Patrick Martin
Martin Presents

Patrick Martin, assistant professor of computer science, directed robotics in the live human-robot performance, Together//Apart, demonstrating new human-robot teaming technologies to support dynamic interactions among humans and robots.

View Bio

Contact Us

Mailing address:
Department of Computer Science
212 Jepson Hall
221 Richmond Way
University of Richmond, VA 23173

Phone: (804) 289-8077
Fax: (804) 287-6444

Chair, Department of Computer Science: Dr. Doug Szajda
Academic Administrative coordinator: Kathy Rothert

CMSC 150 Equivalency Exam

Students who took an introduction to computer science class at another institution or believe that they have sufficient knowledge to test out of CS 150 are welcome to take a departmental exam.  The exam requires knowledge of Python and a variety of topics including but not limited to control flow, basic data structures, classes, functions, and recursion.  Part of the exam requires writing software to satisfy a specified behavior. Students who wish to take the exam should contact the department coordinator to schedule a time. Students who took the AP Computer Science A test do not need to take this exam nor do students who took an equivalent, in-person class at another institution.  Equivalency is determined by the department chair.