Richmond Home

Scholarships & Awards

The following scholarships and awards are given annually to students majoring in computer science. Recipients are honored at the annual department awards reception.

E. Sherman Grable Scholarship
Established in 1992, this scholarship honors Sherman Grable, a professor of mathematics at the University of Richmond for over forty years. Declared mathematics and computer science majors, who qualify for financial aid and who continue to maintain at least a 2.5 GPA, are eligible to receive the scholarship.

Mary Church Kent and Joseph F. Kent Computer Science Award
Established in 1990 by Mary Church Kent and Joseph F. Kent, this award is a cash prize presented to an outstanding computer science major at graduation. The recipient is chosen by the faculty of the Department of Mathematics and Computer Science.

“Outstanding Student in Computer Science” Award
Each year, the Department of Mathematics and Computer Science honors the most outstanding students in computer science with this award. Students’ names are engraved on a plaque that hangs in the department office.